The Admiral: Roaring Currents – Trailer Talk

Having promised a new trailer every day, I totally forgot. Sorry guys, but that’s just good news for the trailer-heads of today – 2 trailers in one day! We start in South Korea with Naval epic The Admiral: Roaring Currents.

Despite the presence of Oldboy’s Oh Dae Su, Min Sik Choi I didn’t expect much from The Admiral. Then unexpectedly, the opening shot levels me. I’m neither a fan of “epics” alá Lord of the Rings nor a fan of CGI but the combination of both here does something for me, maybe I’m just dead into boats.

Though the relatively short trailer doesn’t leave you with a huge amount of clues as to the plot, you can tell it will ultimately be irrelevant come the big battle and all your childlike wonderment will be soaring vicariously as dozens of boats plough into each other and bearded, craggy guys with swords mumble prophetic, angry things.

When it comes to large scale action movies like this, our Eastern friends have the jump on our Western Hollywood, and when I say this I mean in near every single way. Atmospherics, style, story, acting, editing, direction. This like last years The Grandmaster looks intense and as action heavy as you like but still retains a good sense of artfulness, something totally lacking in their US counterparts.

I’m really struggling to find anything to say about this one other than that it looks really good. Being an Asian production, I don’t know many of the main players involved bar the aforementioned Min Sik Choi. Nonetheless, I have high hopes for this one!

Exciteometer-4 Small

Leave a Reply

