One of One: One A Day

‘One of One’ is a short film, currently in it’s pre-production stages. It follows the journey of a mad scientist and his wise-cracking robot pal, as they confront their shaded history in the wake of a self-initated apocalypse. What you are about to read is the production diary for the project, and we hope you enjoy it! (At the moment we’re making a destroyed city for a backdrop, oo-err)

Hello all! The world of ‘One of One’ has come a wee way since yesterday, so let me cut straight to the chase and dive right in.

Remember that crater? The one that was exceptionally flat and dull? Well, guess what? I’ve gone ahead and bumped the shit out out of it! Using a displacement modifier and a displacement map, I’ve created a nice crevice-ey mesh for our texture to sit on. I had been a little apprehensive about using displacement maps up until this point, because I feared there was a chance it might eat our render times up. However, it doesn’t seem to be making a huge difference time-wise so I might rethink my stance on them; they certainly improve the realism a marked amount, and it might be worth applying some to my building textures, to give them some more pop.  Anyway, I whacked One of One and some buildings together to go hand in hand with the crater for a nice little render. Here it is!

Everything all sharp

0009

And not so sharp

0009

Oh, I forgot to mention, I made the first road (of many) today, which you can see in the renders above. It certainly adds a little something compositionally so I’m pretty happy with it. Also, I’ve begun working on some of the stuff that’s going to be littering the crater; namely an open underground rail tunnel, complete with bent up tracks and (hopefully) a wrecked train. Feeling nosy? Take a peek!

Screen Shot 2014-08-06 at 19.54.44

Other than that though, today’s been more budget focused (fun stuff), as we try to figure out the cheapest option for getting the film rendered. At the moment it’s looking a bit nasty. Upward on the 4 Grand mark? Eek. But, I suppose we’ll have to wait and see, I might figure some clever way of cheating the system. Fingers crossed!

That’s probably about it today. I’m sorry that this is such a short post, but my brain is well and truly jumbled from all this talk of money; it’s an anxiety provoking thing, after putting so much work into something! One just has to believe, I guess… Kickstarter, we’re coming for you.

As ever, if you want to keep up to date with us, hit the SUBSCRIBE button! Or, if you don’t like commitment, we wouldn’t mind a cheeky like/share, if you’re feeling up to it. A comment telling me everything will be okay wouldn’t go amiss, either!

Anyway, thank you so much for reading, and I hope you enjoyed yourself (however briefly)

Lots of love,

Henry 

Leave a Reply

