One of One; One a Day (One)

If you’ve been following our production diaries revolving around our upcoming short film, ‘One of One’, you’ll probably be used to us posting once-a-monday. There you’d find us talking about all manner of erudite nonsense; whether that be in relation to the film’s conception, it’s thematics, the narrative behind it, or just how great it’s going to be. This is a little different (although I’m still insisting it’s going to be great) in that every day this week (fingers crossed) I’m going to be posting updates about the graphical, 3D animation, and general production side of things, keeping you with me as I go along. So, what’s on the agenda this week? (And probably for a few more weeks to come?) The construction of our lovely post apocalyptic city.

Now, I’ve already hobbled together a few attempts at this, (with vaguely awful results), but I think my new method is both less render intensive and more interesting to look at. I’ve mentioned before that this 3D lark is a bit of a new thing for me, so up until recently I’ve been apprehensive about UV unwrapping and manual texturing, resulting in a lot of extremely high poly models, procedural textures, and a heart full of ache. No longer, though! I’ve got to grips with painting things manually, and it’s way more fun and efficient, so that’s what I’ve been doing. 

This week I’ve been working on a couple of buildings to dot around the scene, but I guess that before I show you those, I better give you a very sketchy idea of what it is I’m attempting. 

Here it is, in glorious two dimensions, in a form so rough it’s practically a rock. 

IMG_1465

So, the idea is there’s a big fat crater surrounded by a thoroughly derelict cityscape. All kinds of shit’s going to be thrown in it! A plane, some buildings, all my free time… I guess a big bomb went off, then it all just started to sink in, but the context isn’t too important, as long as you get the picture that everyone here’s long been dead. Anyway, bar the crater, probably the most time needs to be spent on the buildings, so that’s what I’ve been up to. 

You may have already caught a glimpse of some of what I’ve been working on city-wise (namely this truck, this billboard, and this rooftop scene) 

Screen Shot 2014-07-21 at 18.47.17

Screen Shot 2014-07-21 at 19.01.02

Rooftop

Since then though, I’ve decided that in order to have enough models to repeat and for it to look convincing as the city stretches into the horizon, I’m probably gonna need about 20 individual models. So far I’ve made a whopping 3! (5 without the textures), so yeah, got some work to do. Anyway, the fun thing about this is I can put adverts/scrawlings/whatever on these buildings to comply with the film’s lore. For example, I’ve created a department store with an ad on it relating to the narrative (it’s not quite there yet, but I’ll show it to you anyway). 

Here it is with a run down hospital and an extremely lanky building with holes all over it:

scene2

And the hospital taking centre stage, with some crummy buildings I’m unlikely to use.

scene

And here are some of them flattened into their respective 2 dimensional images. 

Screen Shot 2014-07-28 at 18.43.40

Screen Shot 2014-07-28 at 18.43.47

Screen Shot 2014-07-28 at 18.43.53

Screen Shot 2014-07-28 at 18.44.03

Now, of course, these buildings aren’t super detailed on the mesh front, and yes, that yields some slightly unrealistic results, but for the most part these buildings are going to be held at quite a distance from the camera (And yeah, I realise that font’s not gonna show up on the sign, so I’m gonna have to find something a bit louder…). That, combined with atmospheric perspective effects (stuff gets less contrasty as it’s held further away from the lens, init), some smoke, clouds, and compositing wizardry, should cover it well enough to make it look adequately tasty. (Lens flares maybe? Maybe.) 

Anyway, I’m currently working on a couple more textures and (should) have more to show you tomorrow. Don’t believe that I’ve modelled anything at all? Here are some screenshots to prove I’m not a total waste of oxygen. 

Screen Shot 2014-07-28 at 20.43.02

Screen Shot 2014-07-28 at 20.43.59

Screen Shot 2014-07-28 at 20.43.34

Also, been talking music today with my beautiful composer-man, exciting stuff. 

Anyway, hope that’s got you as enthused as I am! Stay tuned this week for more ‘One of One; One a Day’ treats, and make sure to share, tweet, follow, and all that jazz! Plus, if you have a question, or just want to tell me how miserable my artistic abilities are, feel free to use the comment section and give me something to cry about. 

Lots of love,

Henry  Gale

Leave a Reply

